Marv\'s Blog

part 0 – dichotomy of curiosity | July 19, 2006

My life consists of a room with two doors and a single matress on a simple frame. Through one door is a infinitely vast library, which as near as I can tell contains the sum of human knowledge. Through the other however….

I’ve never been through the other door. Sure, I’m curious to know what lies beyond it, but I’m also curious to know what I can learn from this library. I’ve lost track of how long I’ve spent here in this library. I don’t seem to use the bed for much more than a comfortable alternative to the chair in the center of the library.

The door to the library was open when I arrived here. The other door was closed. Did I come here through the closed door, or through the library ? I don’t know anymore. I can’t remember much else than what I’ve learnt by reading these books. Did I remember how I got here when I started ? Was my mind a blank before or after I came here ? Did all the knowledge I’m cramming into my mind push out my other memories ? I don’t know the answers to these questions.

If I came here through the closed door, why did I come here in the first place ? If I came here through the library, where is the exit in the library ? I’ve explored the countless shelves looking for a way out, but all I find is more books. More knowledge. Nothing with the answers I seek, or at least the answers that were sought after till I gave up looking. I don’t seem to age here, so what’s the point in wasting time when the library is infinite ? Learn first, look later. Perhaps the answers will be in the books themselves, and not the library.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    July 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
