Marv\'s Blog

Second Life and paranoia: a protest placeholder | February 1, 2006

Second Life Residents privacy and comfort under threat ?

After coming across a site on the del.icio.us RSS feed for second life, it has come to my paranoid attention that the privacy and comfort of Second Life residents is under threat.

How it is under threat.

Through my conversation with Adam Linden, and Bub Linden (which i haven’t posted cos I was in the middle of a damn proof of concept test and forgot to save it first) it has come to my attention that Linden Labs as a company know that there are sites existing which make the keys of the relevant residents available to everyone able to make use of the site. This data can then be used by LSL for nefarious purposes to send intrusive SPAM.

It is (according to Adam Linden) Linden Labs position that they do not do pre-emptive take downs of sites unless they recieve a strong call from the second life residents to take it down.

What I’m going to do.

I’m not going to link to the site. It’s available on the net, I’m not going to help spread it further.

I’m making a post here, I’ve made a copy of the chat archive available for everyone to read, with Adam Lindens permission.

I’m making a post on the SL forum and the SL votes thing (if i can figure out how to use them).

So as not to throw up any hint of SPAM I shall not be interlinking anything unless requested.

I will be linking from here to Second Life sites tho.

What it’d be really really nice if this issue affects you.

Make a post here please :-P Ask questions, give support etc.

Make a post in the forum.

Make a vote on the votes section.

What I don’t want you to do under any circumstances.

Directly or Indirectly make use of any information for nefarious purposes.

Directly or Indirectly break the Law.

Directly or Indirectly break the Second Life TOS/license agreement/whatever.

Directly or Indirectly piss Linden Labs off.

Directly or Indirectly cause people or agencies etc to come knocking at my door.

Directly or Indirectly cause any of my accounts to be closed.

The Links:

The boiler plate.

Second Life® and Linden Lab® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Linden Research, Inc. All rights reserved. No infringement is intended.

If I’ve missed anything else on the list please inform me straight away, I shall correct it ASAP.

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for posting Jess, but you got the wrong end of the stick :-P

    http://fornowamnothing.livejournal.com/52851.html?mode=reply

    The opinions and statements made by those outside of this blog are not always mine. Jess knows things I don’t, and I can’t vouch for the validity of her statements.

    Comment by SignpostMarv — February 1, 2006 @ 3:01 am

  2. Eating humble pie:

    I ended up using this site for a recent project :-P

    I would prefer such a service be an opt-in thing under the control of Linden Labs though.

    Comment by SignpostMarv — May 26, 2006 @ 1:38 pm


Leave a Reply

    February 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
