Marv\'s Blog

Windows Migration pt4 | October 12, 2005

Delays in replacement.

  • The Cat 5 cable delayed the delivery.
  • The useless email system delayed Tech support response (they didn’t get the email sent from their website, I had to ring up).
  • The delay in teach support response put a delay on courier pick-up (they use one for deliveries and another for pick-ups).

Refunds and charges.

  • The missing DVD/CD-R software (Nero apparently) is being sent out today.
  • Their useless billing system overcharged to the amount of £0.01. The penny is being mailed by registered post- apparently it’s too difficult to put the penny in with Nero.

Compensation.

The compensation I am receiving for all of their delays amounts to this: £8.99 + VAT– a refund of the delivery costs plus free delivery on the replacement.

Conclusions.

  • I will not be buying anything from them ever again- they’ve just lost about £600+ in parts I was going to be buying for my network storage server next term.
  • I will be making the courier wait till I’ve checked the laptop works before I sign for it. It’s within my statutory rights as a consumer- you’re not supposed to sign for anything before checking it anyway, I’m just going to exercise it correctly this time. This’ll mean I’ll have to miss Uni for it like, but I’ve got no other choice.
  • Always shop around for the best deal. Doesn’t matter if you trust the place through past experience, they’ll beep up eventually.
Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
