Marv\'s Blog

Windows Migration pt2 | October 11, 2005

The laptop don’t work.

So my laptop got delivered while I was at Uni today, but there’s a problem. The laptop don’t work.

I ordered the laptop without an OS installed, and the computer just refuses to boot from any CDs (Ubuntu, Win98). There also appears to be a bit missing off the front, but I’m not sure if it is actually missing or if it’s just weird design.

Tech Support is closed at the moment, but if what I try doesn’t fix it (I am not going to open the case, I’ve had it less than a day and it’s still in warranty so I’ve no need to) I can’t get it to work, so I’ll be ringing them in the morning, or having them ring me.

Blog Shares.

I claim this blog in the name of me.

Listed on BlogShares

2 Comments »

  1. Try changing the BIOS settings at bootup (you will have to press ESC or F2 or DEL or some such key when the computer starts up – which your computer will tell you), to enable booting from the cdrom – make the cdrom the first boot device.

    :)

    Comment by ubuntonista — October 12, 2005 @ 6:45 pm

  2. It turned out that even though they had plenty of time to check it, that the Double Layer DVD+/-RW (16x) drive was faulty (read off the side of the delivery box that the laptop, ethernet card and cable came in).

    If I ordered an OS installed (choice of XP Pro or XP Home, recovery disc only), they would’ve noticed that and had it fixed before it was shipped. Also, since I wasn’t buying the OS pre-installed, they didn’t bother to pre-format the HD.

    A friend of mine said that because the network boot option and the removable device (USB floppy, bootable USB key etc) were probably functioning it would’ve been possible to install an OS, but the DVD drive probably still didn’t work.

    Thanks for your suggestions anyway, although judging by the fact you run the Ubuntu blog, I was wondering what your opinion is of Ubuntu’s suitability as a network storage server (RAID 0+1 array), development server (LAMP environment), and AV server (Icecast2 if I can find a build that’d run on it)- as I may have mentioned throughout this blog I’m planning on building a server computer (I said build as in from parts as opposed to purchase barebones system+parts from Novatech) with the student loans I’ll be getting next term.

    Comment by SignpostMarv — October 13, 2005 @ 3:35 am


Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
