Marv\'s Blog

Blogger Migration pt7 | October 9, 2005

The Annoyance of Service Delays.

With all these service delays, and no news getting to me on what’s causing them- is it technical problems with WordPress.com, technical problems with my sucky ISP etc- I’ve come to the following conclusions:

  • is a superior blogging platform.
  • BlogSpot.com is a superior site.
  • is a brilliant free service.
  • is an inferior platform.
  • What this basically means is that while I love the platform, I’m starting to hate the site as for whatever reasons beyond my and the technical ppl over at control that are causing the server time out delays that are preventing me from blogging.

    Things I’m considering.

  • I’m considering moving back to blogging on . But that would mean putting up with an inferior service.
  • I’m considering getting a hosting account and managing my own installation. Which is do-able, but I need to keep my money in my bank account (no job, only student loans).
  • I’m considering giving up blogging altogether. Not that anyone would miss me of course, but when I started blogging, I mentioned a little problem I have where I tend to give things up for no apparent reason. I really don’t want to give up blogging, and even more so, I don’t want the technical issues with to be the reason.
  • Basically, I’m stuck on what to do. I’m not even sure whether this post will actually make it to the blog when I click the Publish button.

    2 Comments »

    1. i acually went back to blogger today because i was sick of the downtime and then tonight it was back up. But 3 days was to long a downtime…I;m not sure what i’ll do..

      Comment by picardk — October 9, 2005 @ 12:53 am

    2. You might want to reconsider your move back to blogger.

      According to a suspiciously named individual, the service outage was due to a data center migration gone bad. Hopefully there shouldn’t be any more problems, but keep an eye on the comments in part 6.1 to see what happens.

      Two points:

      You can keep track of the comments via RSS in WordPress. You can’t do that in Blogger.
      Please excuse the screw up I made on the comments for part 6.1– I was fiddling with the time offset settings again. Matt’s comment is meant to be at the top of the list.

      Comment by SignpostMarv — October 9, 2005 @ 1:09 am


    Leave a Reply

          The Buttons

      • Get Firefox!
      • Get Thunderbird!
      • No Software Patents
      • Questionable Content
      • Wapsi Square
      • XFN Friendly

      My del.icio.us feed

      RSS Unknown Feed

      • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

      RSS Unknown Feed

      • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

      RSS Unknown Feed

      • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

      RSS Unknown Feed

      • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
