Marv\'s Blog

Blogger Migration pt2 | September 26, 2005

Problem.

I have run into a problem with regards to migrating from Blogspot (boo) to WordPress (yay). Blogspot.com and Blogger.com addresses appear to be unreachable from my ISP.

And just to prove I don’t need blogspot any more…..

Thankfully, blogspot had ATOM support. Which I used to read my own blog (well, mainly to keep an eye on if it’s updated properly and other experiments). This means I can grab the XHTML straight from the old feed entries in . Not as convinient as copying & pasting the code straight from <textarea> to <textarea>, but handy enough to do the job (and no more annoying messages about POST data).

4 Comments »

  1. Hi-
    I have a journal on livejournal which has a way to export the XML…
    How do I import it to my new wordpress.com blog please? Thanks!

    Comment by suzanne1 — September 26, 2005 @ 7:45 pm

  2. As I said before I’m doing my migration manually. Copy & Paste job.
    There are tools available which can apparently import from a LiveJournal export file to a WordPress blog, however like a lot of these tools I keep seeing for auto-migration, they’re designed to be used with WordPress installs you’ve done yourself (e.g. on your own server).
    Assuming you’re using the LiveJournal export file, I’m afraid I can’t help you with any automatic migration methods. I have 75 posts with no comments on my BlogSpot blog, so I’ve got no trouble manually migrating. If you want to see about using automatic migration tools, check the WordPress documentation or send WordPress.com some feedback.
    If you’re not afraid of manual migration, I’d suggest using the tabbed-browsing feature of Firefox so you can quickly switch between the edit post form on LiveJournal and the write post form on WordPress.
    Seriously, built-in migration tools would be rather handy.

    Comment by SignpostMarv — September 26, 2005 @ 8:09 pm

  3. […] So I had some free time between lectures at Uni today, so I thought I’d spend some time migrating the posts over from here to there. Aside from the issues I’ve been having with server time outs, that are- in fact- still present. My inability to access the WordPress.com server is the reason why I haven’t gotten anywhere near migrating and why I’ve missed two weekly news roundups. I’m getting thoroughly pissed off at this delay which is outside of my control- so much so that I’m actually regretting migrating in the first place. […]

    Pingback by Marv’s Blog » Blogger Migration pt6.1 — October 6, 2005 @ 9:47 pm

  4. […] So I had some free time between lectures at Uni today, so I thought I’d spend some time migrating the posts over from here to there. Aside from the issues I’ve been having with server time outs, that are- in fact- still present. My inability to access the WordPress.com server is the reason why I haven’t gotten anywhere near migrating and why I’ve missed two weekly news roundups. I’m getting thoroughly pissed off at this delay which is outside of my control- so much so that I’m actually regretting migrating in the first place. […]

    Pingback by Marv’s Blog » Blogger Migration pt6 — February 7, 2006 @ 12:17 pm


Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
