Marv\'s Blog

Follow Up: Job Centre Plus is annoying | September 18, 2005

We found out what went wrong…. yeah right.

So apparently what happened was the system threw up a pre-payment check on my final JSA payments which is normally used to make sure everything goes through properly. Basically, if the system thinks there might be something wrong, the system tells the staff to check the details are correct.

So here’s my take on the situation. Obsolete computer system has a bug in it (I’ve never had a pre-payment check when signing off before, only when re-signing on). Staff don’t know what they’re doing – they obviously didn’t do anything about the pre-payment check for two days (they’ve also delayed payment because I was doing volunteer work, and made me fill in forms saying I was getting paid work with a wage of £0.00 an hour). Staff panics when they realise how their organisation’s screw up was (payments are sorted through at Stanley, I called Peterlee Job Centre). Helpfull intelligent staff fast track my second JSA payment as a giro to make up for the other office’s mistake (I don’t see the point in giro-cheques, they’re a waste of time- I normally get mine put straight in my bank account). Staff give me a Giro-cheque I can only cash at my local post office, causing me to withdraw the cash I was reserving for supplies for University which I now have to use for travelling expenses.

I hope I don’t have to sign on again in 4 years.

Tags:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
