Marv\'s Blog

I’m not panicing | September 14, 2005

I don’t see what the big deal is.

Okay, so I’m starting Uni next week, and I don’t see what the beeping deal is. Of course, I can understand how students who are leaving home for the first time might be panicing, or those who are just moving into unfamiliar territory.

The thing is, even though I’m going to be spending 4 years at my Uni doing a BSc Multimedia Computing. I’m not panicing. I just don’t see the point. I don’t get stressed in general anyway. I think one of the reasons that I’m not panicing is the fact that I’m going to be staying at home. I fully intend to find a place in my second year, possibly later in my first though.

One of the other reasons is my view of time in terms of scale. If you look at the passage of time while looking at the ticking hands of a watch (not a rolex, the effect is better with the stop and start motion rather than a smooth one) then four years is going to be a really long time. However, if you look at the passage of time in terms of the existance of the universe, then 4 years is barely even a single tick.

PS; My girlfriend is annoyed that I get to go to Beamish on my social activity day and all she gets is to go to the Winter Gardens (I think she’s complaning cos you can easily walk there, and I have to get on a bus and spend a whole day at Beamish).

Tags:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
