Marv\'s Blog

All things SignpostMarv | September 12, 2005

My part of the Internet.

When I make new posts, or update my template, I use a to have let all the decent blog indexing services know I’ve updated my blog. Saves a whole bunch of time.

So anyway, after using , I check to see if there’s any services that have reported errors. These errors are generally fixed by a quick visit to the services’ website, and manually adding my blog to their index. Occasionally I go and check if I’ve had any updates to my results. uses the to index the emotional relationships (friends, co-workers, inspirations etc.) between pages, as opposed to the technical relationships (parent document, child document, table of contents etc.).

It always annoyed me that I never had any results come up, even though pretty much every link in my sidebar is friendly. A quick search on google made me notice I’d been using the wrong search term in my (it’s amazing the difference a single slash can make). After further refinement, I discovered quite a few results.

The Google search I did also lead me to some out of date profiles of mine, and reminded me to update some other profiles I use as well. I also made a Google Alert for myself, so I don’t need to keep checking google out of boredom to find out where I am on the Internet.

The end result of all this was my adding a new section of links on the sidebar; Stuff on me. I’ll be updating it occasionally when I find something of use to add to it (search engine queries on my all-purpose username mainly).

Tags:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
