Marv\'s Blog

Data black holes | August 24, 2005

Data black holes.

are effectively things where you can chuck stuff in and you’ll never be able to get it back. Data black holes are those annoying hard disks where you stuff data in and can’t get it back. I recently posted a bunch of photos from a backup CD to my Flickr account (I’d post the link to it here, but seeing as how the photos are private, it’d be kinda pointless. The link is on my links list anyway), and I thought I’d see what other photos I could dig out.

I remembered I didn’t totally wipe one of the hard disks I used to have. Except I should have. Aside from a quick reminder of why I took the hard disk out of the computer in the first place, the files with the photos in () where totally buggered. I think I have others on CD, but the chances of me finding fresh copies of the old The Product photos are only slightly better than me finding fresh copies of the old Pincer/The Pincer Movement photos. On the other hand, I did find fresh copies of the preliminary work I did for F.O.S.. In the unlikely event people read this and they want to see it, comments are there for a reason.

Tags:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
