Marv\'s Blog

Wanted: Pioneer RX-Z71L | July 19, 2005

Wanted

Wanted:Old RX-Z71L stereo system from Pioneer. Black with yellow/dull gold capitalised writing. The unit I’m after comes with the FM/AM tuner, Equalizer & tape deck has a stack effect, but is combined in a single unit, with separates available for CD & Vinyl playing capacity.

The state of unit is flexible, ranging from electrically safe to fully working. Completely knackered/blown units will only be acceptable at dirt cheap prices and if the case is in mint or near mint condition.

I have a fully working RX-Z71L unit myself, complete with fully working but unused Vinyl separate, but I’m wanting an extra case, that’s as fully working as possible for a little electronics project. I know its kind obvious I could just get a copy of the technicians manual from Pioneer and rip apart the current model, but its 13+ years old, works better than the new Pioneer model I have (the speakers are the sh12n17).

The insides would be ripped out on the acquired unit, for an as yet to be divulged reasons, so as I stated previously, the condition of the electronics isn’t top priority, just the case itself. Maybe once I complete the project I could figure out how to fork it into the current working unit. Or that might just be bastardising technology a little too much.

4 Comments »

  1. i have exactley the said unit,dirty been sitting in derelict garage, forgotten about, has am/fm digital synthesiser and the pd 271L compact disk player both need attention but not much we have power on both units , so its up to you what you wanna do ,

    Comment by stevie — October 18, 2005 @ 4:11 pm

  2. I’ve got the full kit minus the CD player (the back of the remote has gone walkies as well). What I’m wanting to do is use a Pioneer as a modded PC case, so technically I would only need the basic shell to be intact, but if the circuits were working (buttons, volume control etc, boards for injecting audio straight into Pioneer subsystems) it’d make my life a lot easier.

    I’ve only got to find out where the hell I put my spare graphics card and I’ll have the PC kit to make a case mod. I’ll need the time as well of course :-D.

    I don’t currently have the funds to buy it off you, or anyone else for that matter.

    If you’re in a rush to get rid of it, I would suggest posting it on eBay (after it’s been cleaned & serviced possibly), as the full kit recently went for around £50-60 (I say recently, but I mean a couple of months ago).

    Comment by SignpostMarv — October 18, 2005 @ 5:00 pm

  3. Hi.
    I do have a Pioneer RX-Z71L in perfect condition but the main supply do not work.
    Also the CD-Player and the Phono and Remote-Contoll.
    If You are interested please let me know.
    Or if You have a RX-Z71L that works (main) contact me to give me the chance to buy.
    Kind regards
    Wolfgang

    Comment by servuswolf — July 15, 2006 @ 2:51 pm

  4. I have the main unit + turntable in near-perfect working condition (the tape decks are buggered)

    I’m not looking to sell, I’m looking to do something rather stupid- using the a clone of the stereo to do a case mod project.

    I really like the stereo, so I’m not going to be ruining mine :-D

    The logic behind it is that the stereo produces a nice sound- better than any more recent models, so I would be trying to wire up the parts from an old computer so I can turn the unit into a digital juke box, having the parts internaly rather than just connecting the soundcard up.

    Comment by SignpostMarv — July 15, 2006 @ 3:07 pm


Leave a Reply

    The Buttons

    • Get Firefox!
    • Get Thunderbird!
    • No Software Patents
    • Questionable Content
    • Wapsi Square
    • XFN Friendly

    My del.icio.us feed

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
